Discover a historical monument, the museum and its temporary exhibitions in the frame of the exceptional former residence of the Counts of Geneva and the Dukes of Genevois-Nemours.
Listed as a historic monument in 1959, Annecy Castle was the residence of the Counts of Geneva in the 13th and 14th centuries. Over the following two centuries, new construction work gave the castle this unique appearance, a summarised version of medieval defensive architecture and elegance inspried by castles in Ile de France. Abandoned as a residence in the 17th century, it was used as military barracks up until 1947.
The municipality of Annecy bought the castle from the Army Ministry in 1953. The museum's first exhibition was inaugurated three years later. Since then, the museum has presented various temporary exhibitions for visitors, as well as collections related to the regional heritage, the lake's archaeology, medieval sculpture, landscape painting, contemporary art and animation films.
The castle shows change in a princely residence from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The Tour de la Reine, built in a dominant position compared to the castle's gate, no doubt replaced a primitive keep. In the centre of the main wing, the old lodge shows the adaptation of a large room built over a cellar with columns into to a large room built over a Stove Room. Beyond it, the Perriere lodge represents an important step in the 15th century construction. In about 1535, the Nemours lodge introduced the French Renaissance style which developed at the same time in Ile de France.
All year round, daily.
Group adults: 4 €
Adult: 5.20 €
Child: 2.60 €.
Or with Lac Annecy ID